It’s been almost a year since my last post. Last summer didn’t find me as productive as I’d hoped, and then I changed working place, and everything suddenly became a bit more hectic.

As of today, I’ve finally finished up most of the arrangements on “Another Failure (1989)” and written the last lyrical line in English. Two songs in my artificial language éons mel are left, and then I will start doing vocal takes. I’ve done a lot of recording, programming and even mixing at the same time as rearranging the songs, so when vocals are done, I’m just a tiny step away from finishing the album.

This album has more keyboards (mellotrons!), more guitars, and more strange harmonies than its predecessor, even some polyrhythmic action going on. Truly more progressive, yet still with a hint of 80’s synth pop. The album has turned out to be a sort of concept album, both musically and lyrically. For people who enjoy reading song titles before hearing anything, here they are:

1. Say It Again
2. And To Receive
3. Ep Hoedler
4. Black Eyes
5. All That Follows
6. I Koidls Dyfn
7. Why Do You Break My Heart?
8. Hondeheád
9. Vogue For A New Kind Of Hero
10. Of The Faulty Arc

Hopefully I will be able to finish this during summer this year. I won’t guess the release date, though.

One thing I am sure of, is that on September 3, 2013, I will be releasing the Fluxusboks – “Boks 2008-2013” box set, probably digital as well, but at least on a custom made USB stick in a tin box. The USB release will be strictly limited. This release marks the five years anniversary of the first airing of the second installment of Fluxusboks shows, that aired on Radio Revolt (The student radio in Trondheim) from 2008 until 2009. A total of 17 unique shows, all 30 minute in length, were aired, containing “art amusement” inspired by the fluxus movement. These are a required taste, for sure. Most of them are pure bullshit. Stay tuned for more information on that as its release draws nearer.

That’s it for now. More soon. Sooner than as late as this, compared to the last post.

Current work.

For some time I haven’t had the time to do any recording or composing, until my wife kindly asked for a song just for her, and I made this one:

All My Life (demo)

This, in turn, sparked a motivation for reviving an old album concept that I came up with in 2004, with the title “The Indescribable L”. In short it’s a declaration of love for my wife, in album form. Might sound clichéd or trite, but really isn’t. I’m soon finished with song number two, which is also the title track, and it alternates between 7/8 and 8/8 in the verses, so it’s not your regular pop song.

At the same time I’m still working on “Another Failure (1989)”, which is in continuation of the concept behind “Drawing Lines (1989)”, on which I rearranged and rerecorded songs I wrote as a 10 year old, in 1989. The second song on that one is a 9 minutes plus rollercoaster through genres, so that’s gonna be a pretty screwed up album too. Gotta love it.

I’m not sure which one of these albums will be finished first, but I’m hoping for “Another Failure (1989)” to be finished within the coming summer, and “The Indescribable L” within the year. If time permits.

That’s all for now, more news to come soon, and perhaps more songs as well.